msn-pecan 0.0.13 released

I was in the middle of getting offline messaging support but I think the alias changes are important enough for a release, so there it is🙂

This release brings much improved support for the Hotmail service and aliases, which are now local, server-side support is optional. There’s also massive code cleanups, but hopefully you won’t notice them😉

Important changes:

  • Fixed initial unread mails notifications
  • Properly renew the mail credentials
  • Make server-side aliases a configuration option

Also, Reda El Khattabi has set up an Ubuntu repository here.

Download from the usual place, at Google Code.

Join the mailing list!

12 thoughts on “msn-pecan 0.0.13 released

  1. Any more progress on the OSX front? I would absolutely love to use this with Adium. I’ve been waiting for these features from the gaim/pidgin team forever to no avail🙂

  2. Hi there! Thanks for the release🙂 Working great here!

    Did you know about this news: http://www.amsn-project.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5299
    I think this puts some pressure on Pidgin’s MSN development.
    Even though I love pidgin for it being multi-protocol, considering the weak MSN support, I’ll be considering moving to that new project and even maybe using another program for the GTalk, since pidgin’s GTalk support is also lame.

    I noticed you saying you were working with libpurple, yet, despite its ugliness and looking at that pymsn it sure looks like it’s way more “on the edge”. It has msnp15 already implemented and already has msnp16 changes on a branch.

    Btw, I’m loving the discussion on the mailing list😉

    Keep up the great work!

  3. VuDu: yeah, I’m friends with the pymsn developers. I’ve wanted to work with them but somehow I haven’t managed to find time.

    I think pymsn is a very interesting project with a lot of potential, but right now I’m focusing on stuff that Just Works. I really don’t like libpurple, but it’s the most widely used library, so it’s a necessary evil.

    I’m always experimenting new things, for example, binding pymsn into libpurple. I have work started for that, but there’s just not enough time.

    I need help!

  4. No wonder you don’t have time… looking at the fast devolpment of msn-pecan😉
    I’ll sure be looking forward to this new project😉
    And about libpurple/pymsn, must feel weird “reinventing the wheel”, no?

  5. hola, antes que nada felicitaciones. Hace años que espero que alguien de pidgin se ponga en serio con el msn. Como va el tema de los mensajes offline y lo de transferencia de archivos. tenes pensado agregar la funcion de salvar los emoticones recibidos en *.gif para que sean agregados a los propios?

    Saludos y que sigas bien

    Fede

  6. Just wanted to drop a message thanking you for your work! If it weren’t for your msn-pecan plugin, I probably would not be using Pidgin at all. My impression is that the Pidgin developers don’t really care about the MSN protocol, I assume that is because most of them are american. Here in Scandinavia, MSN messenger is what 99% of IM users are using. So to be able to communicate with both my personal contacts, the corporate XMPP based IM network, and a few contacts on GTalk/ICQ, I am dependent on a multi-protocol client with decent MSN support.

    Great work!

  7. Hey, great work!

    I was just wondering though FelipeC, when do you think support for high-speed file-transfers and offline messaging will be supported?

Leave a Reply

