GStreamer hands-on introduction

I’ve never seen a GStreamer tutorial that explains all the very basic stuff in order to get you started with GStreamer, so I decided to create one very quickly.

I’m sure there’s a lot of room for improvement, so I created this in an open wiki, so if you think you can improve it go ahead😉

Maybe I’ll write some tutorials/examples about how to get started with GObject, perhaps also GStreamer element development, or shall I start with some example applications? I’m thinking on a gst-identify to find all the information about a media clip.

Please comment.

11 thoughts on “GStreamer hands-on introduction

  1. Pingback: GStreamer hello world « Webcitizen FelipeC

  2. Hi,
    I am trying to use Gstreamer over OMAP 3430. I wanna use the DSP hardware acceleration. And for the purpose, I am following the procedure as per http://elinux.org/BeagleBoard/gst-openmax.

    I have downloaded libdspbridge, libomxil-ti & gst-openmax.

    The problem is that the gst-openmax code is looking for Bellagio OpenMaxIL implementation instead of TI’s libomxil-ti.

    How can I make gst-openmax specific to TI or is there any link from where i can download TI specific gst-openmax.

    Thanks in advance.

    Jigar.

  3. Jigar: that’s a question for the gst-openmax mailing list.

    But basically each gst-openmax element has two properties: library-name and component-name, that you can change to use any openmax il implementation.

    But there’s also an omap branch in the github repository that uses TI’s openmax il by default.

  4. Hi,
    Thanks for the prompt reply.

    I followed the above instructions to change the library name & component name.
    But still the problem persists.
    Can you highlight as to how to use these options.

    Also, I didnt find any omap branch in the github repository. Can you please leave a link for the same.

    Thanks a lot.

    Jigar.

  5. Pingback: 100,000 views, and some stats « Felipe Contreras

  6. Hey..
    was wondering if u have written a test app for fetching all the information about a media file?
    please reply

    -Prashanth

Leave a Reply

