Fedora doesn’t have a target market?

I just saw an excelent thread (Target market?) on the the fedora-advisory-board mailing list:

For me the most interesting posts are the one from Bill Nottingham [1], the one from Ralf Corsepius [2], and Will Woods [3].

In overall everybody accepts that Fedora doesn’t have a target market and it shows. Nobody what should be the target market or if it would be a good idea to define it—if possible—, but it seems their are leaning towards the idea that they should do that.

I have tried several distributions: Phat Linux, Mandrake, Linux From Scratch (my custom one), Debian, Fedora, Ubuntu and Arch Linux.

I have liked LFS, Fedora and Arch Linux.

LFS is great, I could have a system that was exactly what I wanted. There are two problems: a) You don’t always know what you want, so you have to constantly be looking for what to put in your distro b) updating is a pain.

Arch Linux is great too, very simple and much easier than LFS. The problem is that the user-base is not that big, so there are issues updating and installing certain packages. Their packaging tools are not that great either.

Fedora suits all my needs. It has a lot of stuff that I don’t want, but it also has a lot of stuff that I didn’t know I wanted. I’ve almost never had updating issues. I have an almost bleeding edge system, that works fine, with no pain.

It was mentioned on the thread that the segments are not isolated one from another, one can use his system for Desktop, Workstation and Sever, and maybe some other person wants to have a device with Fedora as Desktop, Embedded and Server. So one single Fedora might work for all those target markets that in fact overlap.

I think the best thing to do is to make these targets overlap more. For example, I don’t really need SELinux, but it’s nice to have it. If Desktop users try SELinux, issues would be found and fixed, it’s always good to have a big user-base for that. But everyone disables SELinux, why? simply because it’s annoying. The troubleshooter is a great tool, I can understand the issues, so I understand the SELinux policy is not the one I want, but there’s no SELinux policy for me, and I don’t want to create one, so I just disable the whole thing. If even the permissive policy is too strict why isn’t there another policy?

People often install certain packages, enable certain configurations, add certain repositories. If those trends could be collected then you’ll know which is your market, and once you have that I guess it doesn’t make much sense to target something totally different, right?

Then you try to bring together all the target markes as much as possible to make things easier.

Leave a Reply

