Web 2.0 – The Internet revolution explained: del.icio.us

It has happened some time since my last post, but I want to continue bloging, so where is the my second post about Web 2.0 for the joe user.

My second example is del.icio.us, a simple, elegant, and sexy way to store your bookmarks, but it’s much more than that. It has tags for starters, that means that you can organize them in anyway you want. Not only you can organize your links that way, you can also share them with all your friends. For example, you can see all my links here and you can check all my links I consider funny here.

Not only that, if your friends use del.icio.us too you can send them links, and they can send links to you too. But there’s more, if you find the links of somebody interesting you can add that person to your network and each time they save a link, you can see it. You can see my network here.

If that isn’t enough for you there’s also the main page, where you can see the latest links of all the people. Even more, there is a popular page where you can see the top links.

Moreover, if you are an RSS fan, you can receive updates of each and every one of the sub-sites I have already mentioned. If you don’t know what’s that, then wait for my next post or go check it out in Wikipedia😉

del.icio.us has a lot of great features (much more than the ones I have mentioned here), but the simple fact that it allows you to store your bookmarks so easily is enough to make it one of the best sites in the net. You might want to check out this screencast provided by Jon Udell.

I hope you find this useful🙂

Leave a Reply

