gst-av 0.6 released; more reliable

gst-av is a GStreamer plug-in to provide support for libav (fork of FFmpeg), it is similar to gst-ffmpeg, but without GStreamer politics, which means all libav plugins are supported, even if there are native GStreamer alternatives; VP8, MP3, Ogg, Vorbis, AAC, etc.

This release takes care of a few corner-cases, and has support for more versions of FFmpeg.

Here are the goods:
http://code.google.com/p/gst-av/downloads/list

And here’s the short-log:

Felipe Contreras (19):
      adec: flush buffer on EOS
      adec: improve timestamp reset
      adec: avoid deprecated av_get_bits_per_sample_fmt()
      adec: avoid FF_API_GET_BITS_PER_SAMPLE_FMT
      vdec: properly initialize input buffer
      parse: add more H.264 parsing checks
      parse: fix H.264 parsing for bitstream format
      get_bits: add show_bits function
      build: set runpath for libav
      vdec: fix potential leaks
      vdec: use libav pts stuff
      vdec: get delayed pictures on eos
      build: trivial improvements
      parse: trivial fix
      h264enc: fix static function
      vdec: add support for old reordered_opaque
      adec: add support for old sample_fmt
      adec: add support for really old bps()
      adec: add support for all MPEG-1 audio

Mark Nauwelaerts (1):
      parse: be less picky regarding some reserved value
4 thoughts on “gst-av 0.6 released; more reliable

  1. Hi! I’m on a minor mission to get wavpack to play on my N9 and I was wondering if installing the gst-av would allow me to do that?

    I’ve noticed that gstreamer-plugins-good should have this enabled, but it seems to be stripped out of the harmattan-version. And replacing gstreamer-plugins-good with the debian arm-version is prevented by aegis and even if it were allowed, the dependencies affected makes me hesitant to do it.

    Hence I’m looking for other ways (I’ve tried rebuilding ffmpeg a few times but couldn’t get it to work, still trying though). I have scratchbox with armel target set up already but I’d really appreciate a small howto on building gst-av (prefferably with wavpack support) for harmattan, if you have the time.

    Any help would be much appreciated, or if you have any other ideas/hints on how I could solve my problem.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. +goopile gst-av, libav, ffmpeg and so on are for codecs: encoding, decoding. I don’t think you need any of them for typical wav stuff. What you need is the ‘wavdemux’ element. You can probably extract it from gstreamer-plugins-good, or somethig, you can compile only that plug-in, or only copy the .so to the device.

  3. I’m fully aware of that, I think you mistake wavpack for wav, it’s not the same, wavpack is indeed a codec (http://www.wavpack.com/).

    But I’ll see if I can find any information on how to extract the wavpack plugin somehow or simply copy the .so file, I’ve tried it once, but I’ll try again to be sure I didn’t mess something up.

    Thanks again!

  4. Ah! I see.

    Well, you can try to modify gst-av code and add support for CODEC_ID_WAVPACK. Then, you would need to find the corresponding GStreamer caps. Shouldn’t be that difficult.

Leave a Reply

